I have played

   the love game

once or twice

   sometimes its

just a roll

     of the dice

sometimes the deck

  is stacked

 

Pain the one constant

  in my life

sometimes debilitating

  ibuprofen to morphine

 know pain intimately

  knife cut bone marrow biopsy

death of a child

  broken heart

Pain the constant in my life

   sharp stabbing

dull throbbing

   they say you can’t remember pain

but you can’t forget

  I go nights without

sleep

   till my body

shuts down

 

   I am a type A

trapped trying

  to be type B

at night my body

   attacks

I lie awake

  till the tremors

after all its

  not an emergency

and I can’t move anyway

 

  I have played

the love game

   once or twice

just like pain

   U miss it when its not there

my body betrays me

   just like my heart

I know pain

